Documentary and Intimacy

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 02.38.39

Now that i know how to work with a black and white film camera and knowing what my chosen theme is (documentary/intimate), i photographed a few rolls of films. Some as portrait documentary and the other ones showing more intimacy, showing a clear understanding of Nan Goldins work that I’m currently studying. I’m developed the rolls of film, and as i had free time i decided to take some similar photographs of my model with her Nikon so that i could see what the images would look like in colour. By seeing the images in colour i was able to evaluate my work and then make changes to how i was photographing. My model (Lu) had just come from the shower and was lying in her underwear in her room on her bed, she allowed me to photograph this moment. After this she went outside for a smoke in her dressing gown with her underwear still on. I wanted to take this opportunity to experiment shooting with her dressed like this, as Nan golden does this a lot within her work, photographing people in such close proximity whether they have clothes on or not. She removed her gown and just sort of leaned against the wall, we were sort of being true to the moment, as the photograph is still slightly staged. However the image still allows the audience to have their own opinion on it, as it is hard to tell what emotion to feel when looking at the images. My model looks like she is isolated,with someone watching her..turning away from the person that she may be close to as she’s openly in her underwear. This image leaves the audience to decide what to think which makes it interesting. Although Nan Goldins work is more intimate, none staged, these photographs still helped me to progress in my shoots, causing me to relate my work more and more to my chosen artists as i now know where to make changes.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 02.22.32

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 02.35.41

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 02.32.39


Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 02.34.29

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 02.33.46

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 02.22.07

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 02.24.43

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 02.33.13


Chosen Image

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 02.33.26

Leave a Reply

