Documentary project development 1

  Chef

  Restaurant

  Tatto Studio

  Contact Sheets


The theme i chose for a project that i am working on at uni was Intimacy and documentary. I was influenced by photographers such as Henri Cartier Bresson, Garry Winogrand, Martha Cooper, Eugene Richards, Elliot Erwitt and Alfred Eisenstaedt. Their work intrigued me when i saw how they each photographed documentary in different ways. I took some of their ideas and incorporated it into my own shoots, showing an understanding of their work but also creating my own ideas about what i thought intimate documentary was.

Throughout the first half of my project i focused on photographing people in the city, working places, shops, pubs, bars etc. I wanted a series of my images to document their lives from far away and sometimes in close proximity. I produced contact sheets and final prints in black and white film.

Leave a Reply

